2012

I’m back. After coming to the realisation that my more intellectual musings were beginning to populate my facebook feed and bore some of my friends senseless. It seems that I do need a place to not just gather my links but reflect on them too.

I like to keep my online life neatly compartmentalised. Facebook is for friends, Twitter for my PLN and WordPress is mostly for myself. Today I found myself posting the following to FB and now I’m moving it to it’s proper place:

‘based on the evidence than none of my students knew anything about this last year (let alone what aggregating means), i’ve decided that in 2012 we’ll be discussing these ideas – a lot!

Eli Pariser, The filter bubble: what the internet is hiding from you
‘While we all worry that the Internet is eroding privacy or shrinking our attention spans, Pariser uncovers a more pernicious and far- reaching trend on the Internet … In a personalized world, we will increasingly be typed and fed only news that is pleasant, familiar, and confirms our beliefs-and because these filters are invisible, we won’t know what is being hidden from us. Our past interests will determine what we are exposed to in the future, leaving less room for the unexpected encounters that spark creativity, innovation, and the democratic exchange of ideas’. 

time to move on from the cyber utopian/dystopian debates of shirky and carr!’

and a few days earlier

‘Penguin plans to release 50 enhanced e-books and book apps this year, up from 35 in 2011. Projects in the works include an enhanced biography of Malcolm X with video footage, rare photos and an interactive map of historic Harlem … Knopf released an enhanced version of Joan Didion’s “Blue Nights” this month, with three short films featuring the author discussing her daughter’s life and death. Blowing up the book: a new crop of digital books comes loaded with videos, songs, animated shorts and pop-up graphics. Is this the future of publishing? Alter, A The Wall Street Journal, January 20, 2012.

This entry was posted in curation, ebooks, the internet, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

